XOOMAR
Shopper using a BNPL virtual card on a phone with abstract fee and limit indicators at checkout.
FintechJune 17, 2026· 25 min read· By XOOMAR

Fees Can Punish Shoppers Choosing BNPL Virtual Cards

Share
Updated on September 13, 2026

If you’re searching for BNPL virtual cards compared, the key question is not just “Which app splits payments?” It is “Where can I actually use the card, what will it cost, and what happens if I miss a payment?” BNPL virtual cards can make installment financing available beyond a merchant’s own checkout button, but the details vary sharply by provider.

XOOMAR Intelligence

Analyst Take

Below is a grounded comparison of BNPL virtual cards and closely related BNPL payment options, using the researched source data provided for Affirm, Klarna, Zip, Afterpay, PayPal Pay Later, Sezzle, and Splitit. The focus is on online and in-store use, repayment terms, fees, limits, credit checks, app controls, and the types of shoppers each option may fit best.


What BNPL Virtual Cards Are and How They Work

A BNPL virtual card is a digital card generated by a buy now, pay later provider so you can split a purchase into installments. Instead of selecting a BNPL option directly at checkout, you may create a one-time-use or virtual card in the provider’s app and use it like a payment card online or, in some cases, through a mobile wallet in stores.

Most BNPL services in the source data follow a similar basic structure:

  • First Payment: You usually make the first payment at purchase.
  • Installments: The remaining payments are commonly due every two weeks.
  • Soft Check: Many providers use a soft credit check for basic Pay in 4 approval.
  • No Interest Pay in 4: Pay in 4 plans are generally interest-free in the researched data.
  • Virtual Card Use: Some providers let shoppers generate a virtual card for online or in-store purchases.

The biggest practical difference is acceptance. A BNPL checkout button only works where the merchant offers it, while a virtual card can expand where the BNPL plan may be used — depending on the provider’s rules and card network acceptance.

How the major BNPL virtual card options work

Provider Virtual card or similar feature in source data Online use In-store use Core repayment structure
Affirm One-time-use virtual card Yes, source says you can pay anywhere using the virtual card Yes, source says even in-store Pay in 4 or monthly installments
Klarna Single-use virtual card Yes, including use through the Klarna app; Wisetack says usable at any online retailer Yes, can add single-use card to digital wallet Pay in 4, Pay in 30 days, or monthly financing
Zip Virtual Visa card Yes, source says usable at virtually any online retailer accepting Visa Yes, source says usable in-store where Visa is accepted Pay in 4; Zip Plus line of credit
Afterpay In-store payments with select merchants Yes, through merchant network Yes, with select merchants Pay in 4 or 6-/12-month monthly installments
PayPal Pay Later No virtual card feature specified in source data Yes, at merchants accepting PayPal Not specified in source data Pay in 4 or Pay Monthly
Sezzle No virtual card feature specified in source data Yes, through merchant integrations Not specified in source data One Pay in 4 plan over six weeks
Splitit Uses existing credit card rather than issuing a new BNPL loan Yes, where offered by merchant Not specified in source data 2 to 36 monthly installments depending on configuration

Not every BNPL service is a virtual card service. For this reason, this comparison separates true virtual-card functionality from BNPL checkout financing.


Key Features to Compare Before Choosing a BNPL Card

When looking at BNPL virtual cards compared, the best choice depends on more than brand recognition. You should compare where the card works, how repayment is structured, whether late fees apply, and whether longer financing brings interest.

1. Acceptance: direct merchant checkout vs virtual card

BNPL providers fall into two broad categories:

  • Virtual Card Providers: Affirm, Klarna, and Zip have virtual-card functionality in the source data.
  • Merchant Checkout Providers: PayPal Pay Later, Afterpay, Sezzle, and Splitit are primarily described around merchant acceptance or integrations, though Afterpay also supports in-store payments with select merchants.

Virtual cards can be especially useful when a store does not show a BNPL button at checkout. However, approval is not guaranteed just because the store accepts the card network.

2. Repayment terms

The most common BNPL structure is Pay in 4:

  • Payment 1: Due at purchase.
  • Payments 2–4: Typically due every two weeks.
  • Total Length: Often around six weeks.

Some providers also offer monthly financing:

Provider Short-term plan Monthly financing in source data Interest on monthly plans
Affirm Pay in 4 6 to 60 months 0%–36% APR
Klarna Pay in 4; Pay in 30 days Up to 36 months in Wisetack data 7.99%–33.99% APR in Wisetack data
Afterpay Pay in 4 6 or 12 months Up to 35.99% APR in Wisetack data; source also says monthly interest varies
PayPal Pay Later Pay in 4 6 to 24 months 9.99%–35.99% APR
Sezzle Pay in 4 Not specified in source data Not specified
Zip Pay in 4 Zip Plus offers extended repayment Zip Plus may carry account fees and interest
Splitit Not a traditional Pay in 4 loan 2 to 36 monthly installments No additional consumer interest beyond the card issuer’s own terms

3. Fees and late charges

BNPL is often marketed around interest-free payments, but late fees and product-specific charges matter.

  • Affirm: No late fees in the source data.
  • PayPal Pay Later: No late fees in the source data.
  • Klarna: Late fees up to $7 may apply for Pay in 4 after a grace period, depending on terms and state rules.
  • Afterpay: Source data reports late fees may apply and are capped; one comparison lists a cap of the lesser of 25% of the original order value or $68, while another states fees of up to $8 if a payment is ten or more days overdue, capped at 25% of order value.
  • Sezzle: Late and failed payment fees may apply; one reschedule per order can be free.
  • Zip: Late fees vary by state regulations; Zip Plus may involve a monthly account fee and interest charges.

“Interest-free” does not always mean “fee-free.” The lowest-cost option is usually a Pay in 4 plan paid on time, but late payments or extended financing can change the cost.

4. Credit reporting and approval

Credit treatment varies by product and provider. The source data indicates many BNPL services use soft checks for Pay in 4, but longer financing can involve a hard inquiry or credit reporting.

Provider Credit check details from source data Credit reporting details
Affirm Soft prequalification; source data differs on whether accepting a loan may trigger a hard inquiry Payment data may be reported; Wisetack says reports to major bureaus
Klarna Soft check for Pay in 4; hard check for monthly financing in The Points Guy data Not fully specified
Afterpay No traditional credit check for Pay in 4 in Wisetack data; soft check in The Points Guy data Wisetack says Afterpay has stated it will not send BNPL data to major bureaus for FICO scoring
PayPal Pay Later Soft check for Pay in 4; Pay Monthly may involve soft prequalification and a hard inquiry when accepted Not fully specified
Sezzle No hard inquiry for standard Pay in 4 in Wisetack data Sezzle Up can report on-time payments to all three major bureaus
Zip Soft credit check for initial evaluation Not fully specified
Splitit No separate credit check because it uses an existing credit card Depends on the underlying credit card issuer

Best BNPL Virtual Cards for Online Shopping

For online shopping, the strongest options in the source data are the providers that explicitly support virtual or single-use cards: Klarna, Affirm, and Zip. PayPal Pay Later is also highly relevant online because it is available at millions of online merchants that accept PayPal, though the provided data does not describe it as a virtual card.

1. Klarna — broad online virtual card flexibility

Klarna offers a single-use virtual card and multiple repayment options. The source data says shoppers can use Klarna online through the app, and Wisetack states its single-use virtual card can be used at any online retailer.

Klarna offers:

  • Pay in 4: Four interest-free payments every two weeks.
  • Pay in 30 Days: A no-interest option giving shoppers a full month to pay.
  • Monthly Financing: Up to 36 months in Wisetack data, with 7.99%–33.99% APR.
  • Spending Limit: No predefined spending limit in The Points Guy data; each purchase gets an automated approval decision.
  • Late Fee: Up to $7 may be charged for Pay in 4 after the stated grace period, subject to rules.

Klarna may suit online shoppers who want more than one repayment format. The Pay in 30 option is notable because not all BNPL providers in the source data offer a no-interest “pay later next month” structure.

2. Affirm — large purchase flexibility and one-time-use virtual cards

Affirm supports a one-time-use virtual card, and The Points Guy data says it can be used anywhere, even in-store. For online shopping, that makes Affirm useful when a merchant does not directly integrate a BNPL checkout button.

Affirm offers:

  • Pay in 4: No interest.
  • Monthly Plans: 0%–36% APR.
  • Purchase Limit: Up to $20,000 in The Points Guy data.
  • Late Fees: None.
  • Repayment Methods: Bank account, debit card, credit card for some purchases, and check payments by mail.

Affirm may be a fit for shoppers comparing BNPL virtual cards for larger purchases because its stated purchase limit is higher than the Pay in 4 limits shown for PayPal and Zip in the source data. However, monthly financing may carry interest, so the total cost should be reviewed before accepting.

3. Zip — virtual Visa card for wider card-network acceptance

Zip offers a virtual Visa card feature. Wisetack states approved users can generate a one-time-use Visa card through the app, usable at virtually any online or in-store retailer accepting Visa.

Zip offers:

  • Pay in 4: Interest-free for amounts up to $1,500 in Wisetack data.
  • Zip Plus: A line-of-credit product with limits up to $5,000.
  • Fees: Zip Plus may carry a monthly account fee and interest charges.
  • Credit Check: Soft credit check for initial evaluation.
  • Late Fees: Vary by state regulations.

Zip may appeal to shoppers who prioritize card-network acceptance. The trade-off is that details such as late fees can vary, and Zip Plus may introduce costs beyond basic Pay in 4.

4. PayPal Pay Later — strong online merchant reach, but not a virtual card in the source data

PayPal Pay Later is not described as a virtual card in the provided sources, but it is important for online shoppers because PayPal BNPL is available at millions of online merchants that accept PayPal.

PayPal offers:

  • Pay in 4: Purchases from $30 to $1,500, interest-free.
  • Pay Monthly: Purchases from $199 to $10,000, with 6- to 24-month terms.
  • APR for Pay Monthly: 9.99%–35.99%.
  • Late Fees: None.
  • Repayment Methods: Bank account, debit card, and credit card for Pay in 4; Pay Monthly cannot be repaid with credit cards in The Points Guy data.

PayPal may be a good online option for existing PayPal users who want BNPL at PayPal-enabled merchants, but it is less flexible than a true virtual card if the merchant does not accept PayPal.


Best BNPL Virtual Cards for In-Store Purchases

For in-store purchases, the leading options in the source data are Affirm, Klarna, and Zip, because each has a virtual-card or wallet-compatible structure described for physical retail use. Afterpay is also relevant where select merchants support in-store payments.

In-store BNPL virtual card comparison

Provider In-store capability Best fit based on source data Watch-outs
Affirm One-time-use virtual card can be used even in-store Larger purchases; no late fees Monthly plans may carry 0%–36% APR
Klarna Create a single-use card and add it to a phone’s digital wallet Shoppers wanting Pay in 4, Pay in 30, or monthly options Pay in 4 late fee up to $7 may apply
Zip Virtual Visa card usable in-store where Visa is accepted Broad in-store card-network acceptance Late fees vary; Zip Plus may carry fees/interest
Afterpay In-store payments with select merchants Shoppers using participating stores Late fees may apply; availability is merchant-dependent

Affirm for in-store financing

Affirm’s source data is unusually direct: shoppers can use a one-time-use virtual card to pay anywhere, even in-store. That makes Affirm one of the clearest BNPL virtual card options for physical retail.

The key advantage is fee clarity: Affirm charges no late fees in the source data. The key caution is that monthly financing may charge interest between 0% and 36% APR, so it is important to distinguish Pay in 4 from longer-term plans.

Klarna for digital-wallet in-store use

Klarna allows shoppers to create a single-use card and add it to a phone’s digital wallet for in-store payments. This can be useful for shoppers who want a mobile wallet flow rather than entering card details manually.

Klarna also has no predefined spending limit in The Points Guy data. Instead, each purchase receives an automated approval decision, which means a prior approval does not guarantee every future transaction.

Zip for in-store Visa acceptance

Zip’s virtual Visa card is notable because Wisetack states it can be used at virtually any online or in-store retailer accepting Visa. That gives Zip a clear acceptance advantage where card networks are accepted and the transaction is approved.

However, Zip’s fee picture is more variable. Late fees vary by state, and Zip Plus may involve a monthly account fee and interest.

Afterpay for select in-store merchants

Afterpay supports in-store payments with select merchants. Its core plan splits purchases into four interest-free payments, and it also offers monthly installments of six or 12 months in the source data.

Afterpay may fit shoppers who already buy from participating merchants and want a straightforward Pay in 4 plan. The limitation is that in-store acceptance is described as select-merchant based, not universal.


Fees, Late Charges, and Repayment Terms Compared

The repayment structure is where many BNPL products look similar at first and very different on closer inspection. The safest comparison is to separate short-term Pay in 4 plans from monthly financing.

Pay in 4 and short-term repayment comparison

Provider Short-term plan Interest Late fees
Affirm Pay in 4, four payments every two weeks None None
Klarna Pay in 4; Pay in 30 days None for Pay in 4 and Pay in 30 Up to $7 for Pay in 4 after grace period, subject to rules
Afterpay Four payments, first due at purchase None Late fees may apply; caps reported in source data
PayPal Pay Later Pay in 4, first payment at purchase, then three biweekly payments None None
Sezzle 25% down, then three payments; all within six weeks Interest-free Late and failed payment fees may apply
Zip Pay in 4 Interest-free up to $1,500 in Wisetack data Varies by state
Splitit Monthly installments using existing credit card No separate Splitit consumer interest No additional consumer fees in source data; underlying card terms still matter

Monthly financing comparison

Provider Monthly term range in source data APR or cost details
Affirm 6 to 60 months 0%–36% APR
Klarna Up to 36 months in Wisetack data 7.99%–33.99% APR
Afterpay 6 or 12 months 0%–35.99% APR in Wisetack data
PayPal Pay Later 6 to 24 months 9.99%–35.99% APR
Zip Plus Extended repayment May carry account fee and interest
Splitit 2 to 36 months depending on configuration Uses existing credit card; no separate consumer interest from Splitit

If your goal is to avoid interest, compare only the short-term interest-free plans and confirm you can make every installment on time. Monthly BNPL financing can resemble a traditional installment loan, especially when APR applies.


Credit Checks, Spending Limits, and Approval Factors

BNPL approvals are not all-or-nothing. Providers may approve one transaction and decline another based on purchase amount, repayment history, soft-check results, or product type.

Spending limits compared

Provider Spending or purchase limit from source data
Affirm Up to $20,000
Klarna No predefined spending limit; automated decision per purchase
Afterpay Spending limits begin around $500 and increase gradually over time
PayPal Pay in 4 $30–$1,500
PayPal Pay Monthly $199–$10,000
Zip Pay in 4 Up to $1,500
Zip Plus Up to $5,000
Sezzle Specific limit not provided in source data
Splitit Based on existing credit card limit

Credit checks and reporting

The source data shows a clear pattern: Pay in 4 products usually rely on soft checks or lighter approval, while monthly financing is more likely to involve a hard inquiry or reporting.

Important details include:

  • Affirm: Uses soft prequalification in the source data; payment history may be reported, and one source states loan acceptance may trigger a hard inquiry.
  • Klarna: Soft check for Pay in 4; hard check for monthly financing in The Points Guy data.
  • PayPal: Soft check for Pay in 4; Pay Monthly may use soft prequalification and a hard inquiry when the customer accepts financing.
  • Afterpay: No traditional credit check for Pay in 4 in Wisetack data; another source describes a soft check.
  • Sezzle: No hard inquiry for standard Pay in 4; Sezzle Up can report on-time payments to all three major credit bureaus.
  • Splitit: No separate credit check because the shopper uses an existing credit card.

Credit reporting can be positive or negative. Wisetack notes that BNPL payment history is increasingly being incorporated into credit models, and missed payments carry greater consequences than they once did.


BNPL Virtual Cards vs Credit Cards vs Debit Cards

BNPL virtual cards, credit cards, and debit cards all solve different payment problems. The best choice depends on whether you value installment flexibility, rewards, credit-building potential, or spending control.

Payment method comparison

Feature BNPL virtual card Credit card Debit card
Payment timing Split into installments Pay later through card billing cycle or carry balance Paid from bank account
Interest Often none for Pay in 4; monthly plans may charge APR Can charge interest if balance is carried No credit interest
Rewards Source warns BNPL may reduce category bonus opportunities May earn rewards depending on card Usually limited rewards, if any
Credit check Often soft for Pay in 4; monthly plans may be harder checks Credit application required No credit check for spending
Spending control Installment schedule can help budgeting but may encourage overspending Revolving credit can enable larger balances Limited by available funds
Merchant acceptance Depends on provider, virtual card, and approval Broad card-network acceptance Broad card-network acceptance

The Points Guy data warns that if your goal is maximizing credit card points and miles, BNPL may not be ideal. Even when a BNPL provider lets you link a credit card for repayment, you may lose category bonuses you would have earned by purchasing directly from the merchant.

There are also card-issuer restrictions. At the time of writing, The Points Guy data says Chase credit cards cannot be used as payment methods for BNPL services, though debit cards and checking accounts can be linked. It also says Capital One credit cards are blocked for BNPL transactions, while Capital One debit cards and checking accounts can be linked.

Where Splitit is different

Splitit is not a typical BNPL loan. It uses the shopper’s existing credit card to divide a purchase into installments. The source data says there is no separate credit application, no new account, and no additional consumer interest or fees from Splitit, though the underlying credit card issuer’s terms still apply.

Splitit may be useful for shoppers who already have available credit and want installment payments without taking out a separate BNPL loan. However, because it relies on an existing credit card, it does not provide the same alternative-credit access as some BNPL apps.


Risks to Watch: Overspending, Returns, and Missed Payments

BNPL virtual cards can be convenient, but they also introduce risks that are easy to underestimate.

Overspending risk

The Points Guy source cites research indicating that many people used BNPL services to buy items they otherwise could not afford. That matters because splitting a purchase into four smaller payments can make the purchase feel cheaper than it is.

A practical rule is to evaluate the total price, not the installment amount. If the full purchase would strain your budget, a smaller first payment does not remove the risk.

Missed payments and fees

Late-payment consequences vary:

  • No Late Fees: Affirm and PayPal Pay Later list no late fees in the source data.
  • Capped Late Fees: Klarna and Afterpay may charge capped late fees.
  • Variable Fees: Zip late fees vary by state.
  • Failed Payment Fees: Sezzle may charge late and failed payment fees.

Even when a provider does not charge late fees, missed payments may still affect future approval decisions or credit reporting, depending on the product.

Returns and refunds

The provided source data does not give detailed return-policy mechanics for each provider. Because BNPL involves a lender or payment provider between you and the merchant, returns can take longer to reconcile than a simple debit-card refund.

At the time of writing, shoppers should confirm three things before buying:

  • Merchant Policy: Whether the merchant accepts returns on the item.
  • BNPL Adjustment: Whether future installments pause or adjust after a return.
  • Refund Timing: Whether already-paid installments are refunded to the original repayment method.

Using debt to pay debt

The Points Guy source warns that using one form of debt to pay another form of debt is not wise, especially if you cannot pay off the credit card charge when the bill is due. This matters when BNPL providers allow credit cards as repayment methods.

If you repay BNPL with a credit card and then carry that card balance, you may convert an interest-free plan into credit card debt.


How to Choose the Right BNPL Virtual Card

The right BNPL option depends on where you shop, how much you need to finance, and whether you can reliably meet the payment schedule. Here is a practical way to compare BNPL virtual cards compared for real shopping decisions.

Choose based on where you shop

Shopper need Providers to consider from source data Why
Online stores without BNPL checkout Klarna, Affirm, Zip Each has virtual-card functionality in the source data
In-store mobile wallet use Klarna, Affirm, Zip Each supports in-store virtual-card or wallet-style use
PayPal-enabled online checkout PayPal Pay Later Available at millions of online merchants accepting PayPal
Select Afterpay partner stores Afterpay In-store payments available with select merchants
Credit-building focus Sezzle Up Reports on-time payments to all three major bureaus when enrolled
Existing credit card installment preference Splitit Uses existing credit card without a separate BNPL application

Choose based on repayment style

  • Lowest Complexity: Sezzle offers one Pay in 4 structure: 25% down and three additional payments within six weeks.
  • Most Repayment Variety: Klarna offers Pay in 4, Pay in 30, and monthly financing.
  • Longer Terms: Affirm offers monthly terms from 6 to 60 months.
  • PayPal Users: PayPal Pay Later offers Pay in 4 and Pay Monthly where PayPal is accepted.
  • Existing Credit Card Users: Splitit offers 2 to 36 monthly installments depending on merchant configuration.

Choose based on fees

If avoiding late fees is your priority, the source data lists Affirm and PayPal Pay Later as charging no late fees. If you are considering Klarna, Afterpay, Sezzle, or Zip, review fee terms carefully because late, failed-payment, or state-dependent fees may apply.

Choose based on purchase size

  • Small Purchases: PayPal Pay in 4 covers purchases from $30 to $1,500.
  • Medium Purchases: Zip Pay in 4 covers up to $1,500, while Zip Plus may go up to $5,000.
  • Larger Purchases: Affirm lists a purchase limit up to $20,000, while PayPal Pay Monthly goes up to $10,000.
  • No Set Limit Model: Klarna has no predefined spending limit, with approval decided purchase by purchase.

Quick recommendation by shopper profile

Shopper profile Best-fit options from source data Reason
Wants a true virtual card for online checkout Klarna, Affirm, Zip Explicit virtual-card features
Wants in-store BNPL flexibility Zip, Klarna, Affirm Virtual Visa, digital wallet, or one-time-use virtual card support
Wants no late fees Affirm, PayPal Pay Later No late fees listed
Wants to build credit through BNPL Sezzle Up, possibly Affirm depending on product Sezzle Up reports on-time payments; Affirm payment data may be reported
Wants PayPal checkout convenience PayPal Pay Later Works at millions of online PayPal merchants
Wants to use existing credit card limit Splitit No separate loan; uses existing card

Bottom Line

When BNPL virtual cards compared are evaluated by actual usability, Klarna, Affirm, and Zip stand out because the source data explicitly describes virtual-card functionality for online and/or in-store purchases. PayPal Pay Later is highly relevant for online shoppers because of PayPal merchant acceptance, while Afterpay, Sezzle, and Splitit may be better fits for specific merchant networks, credit-building goals, or existing-card installment use.

The best BNPL virtual card is not necessarily the one with the biggest limit. It is the one that works where you shop, gives you a repayment plan you can meet, and does not add fees or interest you did not expect.

For most shoppers, Pay in 4 plans are the simplest and often interest-free option. Monthly financing can be useful for larger purchases, but APRs in the source data reach as high as 36% for Affirm, 35.99% for PayPal Pay Monthly and Afterpay monthly plans, and 33.99% for Klarna monthly financing, so reviewing the total repayment cost is essential.


FAQ

What is the best BNPL virtual card for online shopping?

Based on the source data, Klarna, Affirm, and Zip are the clearest BNPL virtual card options for online shopping. Klarna offers a single-use virtual card, Affirm offers a one-time-use virtual card, and Zip offers a virtual Visa card.

Which BNPL virtual cards work in stores?

The source data supports in-store use for Affirm, Klarna, and Zip. Affirm’s one-time-use virtual card can be used even in-store, Klarna’s single-use card can be added to a phone’s digital wallet, and Zip’s virtual Visa card can be used in-store where Visa is accepted. Afterpay also supports in-store payments with select merchants.

Which BNPL providers have no late fees?

The source data lists Affirm and PayPal Pay Later as having no late fees. Other providers may charge late, failed-payment, or state-dependent fees.

Do BNPL virtual cards charge interest?

Pay in 4 plans are generally interest-free in the source data. However, monthly financing can charge interest. For example, Affirm monthly plans list 0%–36% APR, PayPal Pay Monthly lists 9.99%–35.99% APR, and Klarna monthly financing lists 7.99%–33.99% APR in Wisetack data.

Can BNPL help build credit?

Some BNPL products may affect credit. Sezzle Up reports on-time installment payments to all three major credit bureaus when customers enroll. Affirm payment data may also be reported, depending on the product and source. Missed payments can carry consequences, so BNPL should be used carefully.

Is a BNPL virtual card better than a credit card?

Not always. A BNPL virtual card can be useful for splitting a purchase into predictable installments, often with no interest on Pay in 4 plans. A credit card may be better for rewards, protections, or 0% introductory APR offers, depending on the card. The Points Guy source also notes that BNPL may reduce the category bonuses you could earn by buying directly with a rewards credit card.

Sources & References

Content sourced and verified on June 17, 2026

  1. 1
    A comparison of 'buy now, pay later' services - The Points Guy

    https://thepointsguy.com/credit-cards/comparison-buy-now-pay-later-services/

  2. 2
    10 Best Buy Now, Pay Later Platforms in 2026

    https://theretailexec.com/tools/best-bnpl-platforms/

  3. 3
    18 BNPL Alternatives Compared — Rates, Terms & Features | Wisetack

    https://wisetackfinancing.com/alternatives.html

  4. 4
    Virtual Cards and BNPL in 2025: The Next Step in Consumer Payments

    https://buvei.com/blog/virtual-cards-and-bnpl-in-2025-the-next-step-in-consumer-payments/

  5. 5
    Virtual Installment Cards: Improving BNPL Outcomes for Banks and ...

    https://www.zeta.tech/us/resources/blog/virtual-installment-cards-improving-bnpl-outcomes/

  6. 6
    What To Know About Credit Cards Offering 'Buy Now, Pay Later ... - CNBC

    https://www.cnbc.com/select/credit-cards-offering-buy-now-pay-later-options/

XOOMAR

Written by

XOOMAR

Data desk

XOOMAR is a capital markets software and data company in Selden, New York. Every brief on this site starts from a dataset the company collects itself from primary sources (CFTC, SEC EDGAR, FINRA, the Federal Reserve, exchange APIs) and names the numbers it is built on, with a link to the data page so you can check them. Briefs are reviewed before they go out and corrected in place when the data is revised.

Related Articles

Debit card user comparing BNPL app risks, fees, autopay failures, and payment limits.Fintech

BNPL Apps Can Punish Debit Users, Compare Fees First

Debit card BNPL can stay interest-free, but failed autopay, fees, and limits decide which app is safest.

Jun 16, 202623 min
Freelancer desk with abstract BNPL payment schedule and cash flow visualsFintech

BNPL Apps for Freelancers That Won't Wreck Cash Flow

The best BNPL apps for freelancers aren't the flashiest. They're the ones whose due dates, fees and terms fit messy client cash flow.

Jun 17, 202620 min
Two travel payment app concepts in an airport lounge, comparing short installments with larger trip financing.Fintech

Klarna vs Affirm Travel Pits Pay in 4 Against Big Loans

Klarna fits shorter, flexible travel payments. Affirm is stronger for big trips, longer terms, and travel-brand acceptance.

Jun 16, 202620 min
Urban renter using a digital payment app to bridge rent and paycheck gaps.Fintech

Rent BNPL Turns Paycheck Gaps Into a Risky Credit Bet

Rent BNPL is shifting from retail perk to survival tool as renters use installment credit to bridge paycheck gaps.

Jun 11, 20267 min
Renter using a payment app in an apartment, with city housing and debt risk visuals.Fintech

Rent BNPL Hits $37B As Housing Pain Becomes New Debt

Rent BNPL has gone mainstream, with Flex at $37B in payments. The catch: it risks turning unaffordable housing into consumer debt.

Jun 10, 20267 min
Cinematic wide-angle of stock charts visualizing volatile market conditions and short interest pressure, with modern editorial style.Trading

GME shorts jump to 56.99 million shares, days to cover rebounds to 9.72

GameStop's short interest jumped over 5% in the latest filing, while a sharp drop in daily trading volume caused the 'days to cover' metric to nearly double, wh

Sep 13, 20267 min
Dynamic holographic Bitcoin ETF chart illustrating price trajectory during a trading day.Trading

Bitcoin ETF Adds 38,192 BTC After $12.55-Million Withdrawal

The Bitwise Bitcoin ETF recorded a $12.55 million outflow, a minor but notable reversal during its recovery from a massive $2.95 billion liquidity event.

Sep 11, 20265 min
Abstract photorealistic trading floor with a glowing data visualization representing a clash in crypto futures market positions.Trading

Bitcoin COT Shows Leveraged Funds Net -7,892 Contracts

Hedge funds increased their bearish bet against Bitcoin to a net short of 7,892 contracts, directly opposing bullish asset managers as total market open interes

Sep 11, 20266 min
Trading floor with monitors showing financial charts and data visualizations.Trading

August CPI Prints 3.40%, Up 0.04 Points

Inflation rose modestly to 3.40% in August, landing above the Fed's target just as markets expect an imminent rate hike.

Sep 11, 20268 min
Cinematic wide-angle view of a high-tech crypto trading floor with glowing data screens during dusk.Trading

BITB's Flows Flatline Thursday, Billion-Dollar Stockpile Steady

The Bitwise Bitcoin ETF saw a day with zero inflow or outflow, holding its position of over 38,000 BTC worth nearly $3 billion, highlighting a lull in a volatil

Sep 10, 20265 min

Don't miss the signal

One email a week on what changed in the data: positioning, flows, funding and the calendar. No noise, just signal.

Free forever. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.